Ashram Akhandparam Dhan in Ujjain - Reisverslag uit Indore, India van Bianka Mueller - WaarBenJij.nu Ashram Akhandparam Dhan in Ujjain - Reisverslag uit Indore, India van Bianka Mueller - WaarBenJij.nu

Ashram Akhandparam Dhan in Ujjain

Door: Bianka

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bianka

30 September 2010 | India, Indore

Hello All,
I left Bombay after 1 1/2 day with the night train to Ujjain. When people saw me in the train they were looking a bit suprised to see a forgein person in this third class. I also did not face one single foreigner! So they where asking me if I am right and did not want to look for a better class. But this was what I booked and I dont think the second class is so much better in India, I thougt... No, I am fine, I answered..Although we all got our pillows and fresh linnen to make a comfort bed I could not sleep the whole night really deep. I am still suffering from the time difference a bit. But I would travel by night train again as I experienced it as quite comfortable.
When I arrived In Ujjain I was quite tired and sooooo hungry. Ujjain ( one of the seven holy cities in India) is a very special place. The Ashram Akhandparam is located close to a river and it just the first Ashram or first Temple you will find in this direction of the city. If you follow the road from the Ashram lots of Temples will guide your way through. Every Temple has its own style and they are all different. I visit the the Malakah Temple which is the most famouse one.
It was a pity that I was not allowed to make any pictures! They ask me to take my shoes off and I nearly burned my feets because the foothpath was so hot.When you are inside the temple and you see all these people doing their rituals, feel the atmosphere and the beauty of the place itself ,then you are really impressed. It is so different from our christian cultur and I feel like a fool not knowing more about hinduism. I shared this thought with the only englisch talking indian in this location and he answered very polite " Dont worry it does not matter which god you are praying for because we also have different names for them and in the end it is only one person. Just do the ritual with what you brought with you. As I was hungry I did buy some bananas, papaya and water and had it taken with me in this temple. So I pured some water of the holy stone ( normally you do it with milk and flowers) and gave 10 Rs to the priest. He gave me his blessings and I enjoyed the nice scenery just outside the holy place. After coming back to the Ashram the monks invited me to join for lunch. We had to sit down on the floor on a little carpet. Before they start eating there will be something like a song or prayer and after they have finished this ritual everyone can start eating. It is obliged to eat with your right hand which is not so easy for a left handed ( also to keep on remembering it).It worked out fine after a monk reminded me again. Uups,it is so easy to fall back in your old manners! This morning the waked me up at 5.45 am with bells, drums and singing, starting their day with the first ritual to their god Vishna in the tempel. Then they did meditation and followed Yoga exercise in the garden...Their movements in Yoga were so elegant and it was so peacefull. A great way to start the day!

  • 01 Oktober 2010 - 08:59

    Nelly Geven:

    Hoi Bianka,als ik het zo'n beetje kan volgen heb je al van alles gezien en meegemaakt de omgeving verkennen is ook interessant begrijp ik ,en zo lang treinen was je ook niet meer gewent!!!!!!!!!!!.groetjes 't Thuisfront'

  • 02 Oktober 2010 - 14:45

    Edward:

    Hi Bianka I saw your first messege while travelling for an exhibition. I hope you have a great time in India. It is for sure a place which you can love and also hate.
    I hope the trip brings what you expect from it.

  • 02 Oktober 2010 - 20:00

    Jose Berkvens Gemert:

    Hallo Bianca,
    Bedankt voor je mail. Fijn te lezen dat alles goed gaat. De yogales donderdag was erg stil (maar 5 mensen).We hebben je dus echt gemist en hebben het nog over je reis gehad.
    Heel veel sukses met alles en een hele goede reis !
    groetjes
    Jose

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Bianka

Actief sinds 15 Sept. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 296
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25999

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juli 2015 - 13 September 2015

Rishikesh

26 Juli 2014 - 07 September 2014

A place in heaven to join a yoga teacher training?

15 Juli 2013 - 05 Augustus 2013

Wandern auf der Via Francigena

26 September 2010 - 20 December 2010

The magic of India

Landen bezocht: